Monday:14K OTW rate ladders

Partly cloud.  Temps started in the mid-40s but climbed rapidly.  By the time I finished, it was nearly 60F.  Winds were light at first, but built through the session and for most of the time, the wind was out of the west at about 10mph with gusts to 15mph.  It was a nasty headwind going up river.

The plan was steady state rate ladders.  3′ @ 18, 2′ @ 20, 1′ @ 22 over and over again.  Breaks at the ends of the river, but just long enough to turn the boat around.  I am still not happy with my boat speed, but I am setting the boat OK.  The main issue is not being able to really get out over the footstretcher without hitting the stops on the slide.  My finishes are still rough, but improving.

Today, rowing into the headwind was very heavy work. You can see the 20 second difference in pace and higher heart rates.  The good thing about the river was that even with the wind, there was basically no chop.  It just felt like I was dragging a bucket!

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 11.26.00 AM.png

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 10.30.29 AM

I worked a little bit harder than I should have for an ideal endurance session, but only a little bit.

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 10.30.40 AM

Tomorrow:  I have an early meeting, so I plan to do a session around noontime.  I’m thinking that I might take a shot at this month’s CTC.

 

 

Leave a Reply

