Wednesday: SS Rate Ladders, 1x

Weather:  Perfect!  60F, dry, almost no wind.

Plan:

  • Rate ladders: 3′ @ 18, 2′ @ 20, 1′ @ 22
  • As many I could do in the time I had which was about an hour.
  • HR cap below 160.  I really should be capping at 155, but it just feels too slow!

I launched a bit late.  Yesterday, after I finished my main set and I was rowing back to the dock, I noticed that my starboard oarlock felt funny.  When I started to drive, it felt like it was giving a little bit at first, so there was a Ka-lunk at the start of the drive.  I had not noticed it before the workout.  When I got back to the dock, I noticed that the oarlock had more “play” fore and aft than the port oarlock.  I decided to try to swap out the oarlocks, or at least the bushings this morning.

I gave it a try, but I discovered that removing the oarlocks on this old Peinert would have required essentially completely disassembling the outboard end of the rigger.  I decided to just tighten up the nuts and go rowing, and try to fix the oarlocks on another day when I had more time.  With the nuts tightened, I could still feel a little thunk on the starboard oar, but it was a lot better.  It will need to be fixed though.  I don’t think this boat has been rowed hard for a very long time.

Anyway, by the time I got on the water, it was around 6:40.  I needed to be back on the dock by 7:50 to let the guy who owned the boat has his turn.  So I rowed down to the moody street dam, and decided to turn around again at exactly 7:15, since that would get me back right on time.  I had just gotten back through the s-turn and had just completed a ladder at 7:15, so I spun and headed back to the dam.  Then I rowed home.

Right before the cut, I passed by the coach of the LaSalle Crew.  They row in the afternoons, so I don’t generally see them on the river.  He gets in his own training in the mornings so we cross paths every now and then.  I was glad to see him, because there are big doings going on at my old club house about 1km upriver from where I keep my boat.  This year a high school crew from Nobles has moved in with a bunch of 4+s, and launches, and then later this summer, the biggest rowing organization in the area, Community Rowing, is going to be opening a satellite location at that boat house.  There is talk that they could be bringing up to 20 boats out here.  I think that this is great!  I would probably keep my boat where it is, but if there is a group of rowers from CRI here, then I might be able to find some folks to train with in the mornings and maybe get into some bigger boats for more racing action.  I’m going to reach out and see if I can find out what the story is.

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 10.44.18 AM

Anyway, back to the rowing.  I was sluggish and slow today, and I didn’t feel like I was rowing all that well.  But it was hard to be glum about it on such a sterling morning.

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 10.47.38 AM

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 10.51.08 AM

Now I am on a plane down to Austin for some meetings on Thursday.  I fly home on Friday.  I will probably try to find myself a crossfit box for tomorrow morning, and just do some steady state rowing.  Hopefully, I can squeeze in a quick 10K on Friday after I get home.

This weekend, I’m not sure what will happen.  I fly out on Sunday for another trip, so I have lots to get done on Saturday.

2 thoughts on “Wednesday: SS Rate Ladders, 1x

  1. sanderroosendaal says:

    Greg, what a coincidence! I did steady state rate ladders in the single as well. Managed 4x12min of them.

    Shameless plug:
    By the way, do you know you don’t have to download the images from rowsandall.com? In WordPress you can just “add Media from URL” them. I don’t intend to delete those images for a long time … 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

