More fun with Stravastix

I am really grateful for a post over on RowingMusings that introduced me to an add on to Strava called StravistiX.

It is an online tool that essentially does a version of TRIMP (Training Impulse), a method to measure total training load that uses both the duration and the intensity of a session.  Intensity is measured as a % of HRR.  (HRR is the delta between your maxHR and your RestingHR).

StravistiX has implemented a flavor of this as a pretty seamless add-on to Strava.  So, now I routinely upload each session to Strava, either directly, or as an export from rowsandall, and every week or so, I sync it to StravistiX.

This is the output I get.

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 10.01.27 PM.png

So, you can see in one chart the story of my training since January 15th.

On Januray 16th, I was cleared to get back to training after my knee surgery.  I’ve had a greater number of rest days than I normally plan (14 vs 8), mainly due to an insane business travel schedule.

Despite this, I have tried to keep on track with the Marathon training plan, and it seems to be paying off.  By the measures here, I am in overload right now.  I’m not sure if that is a bad thing or not.  And it seems to think that my fitness is improving.

I’m planning on reviewing this weekly and probably posting something about monthly.  Right now I’m doing it to learn.  Eventually, I might use it to guide the intensity of the training sessions I have planned.

 

2 thoughts on “More fun with Stravastix

  1. sanderroosendaal says:

    I am using the SportTracks flavor (actually two of them) and my experience is that when the curve goes upwards usually coincides with good results. So it doesn’t have to be above zero necessarily.

    Like

  2. stelph82 says:

    Thanks for the mention – it is interesting to see your training mapped out like this – at the very least it gives you a way to compare how taxing a workout was physiologically when on paper they are very different – for example how a hours UT2 compares to an interval session

    Like you I’m getting a feel how the “recomended” zone works for rowing – the recommendation is to stay out of overload to avoid illness but then i find any “standard” rowing workout plan quickly puts you in overloaded – whether this is because you need/can maintain a higher workout in rowing or if it’s a suggestion most rowing plans aim high with an aim to get fit quick and a hope that you won’t fall ill im not sure.

    In searching I have also come across another effort based measuring method that was developed for rowing and validated against TRIMP called the T2minute which the aussies use and I’ve heard GB women also use I need to buy and read the paper which discusses it

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

